Bookmark and Share


Potamkin Prize for Breast Cancer Research
The Potamkin Award carries a $10,000 stipend and is presented to an outstanding leader in the breast cancer community.

Edith Mitchell, MD FACP
Clinical Professor of Medicine and Medical Oncology, Director of the Center to Eliminate Cancer Disparities, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center at Jefferson

Edith Mitchell, MD, FACP, has spent her medical career helping individuals in medically underserved areas to realize that simple changes in lifestyle can have a dramatic impact on cancer care. Through her work, Dr. Mitchell has demonstrated the importance of community service and outreach, especially to those individuals who may not have the means to seek out more conventional medical advice.

Dr. Mitchell’s research in breast, colorectal, and pancreatic cancers and other GI malignancies involves new drug evaluation and chemotherapy, development of new therapeutic regimens, chemoradiation strategies for combined modality therapy, patient selection criteria and supportive care for patients with gastrointestinal cancer. She travels nationally and internationally teaching and lecturing on the treatment of gastrointestinal malignancies.

Dr. Mitchell has authored and co-authored more than 100 articles, book chapters, and abstracts. As a distinguished researcher, she has received many cancer research and principal investigator awards, including a Promise Grant from the Susan G. Komen Foundation.  

In addition to her medical achievements, Dr. Mitchell is a retired brigadier general, the first female physician to attain this rank in the history of the U.S. Air Force. In this capacity, she served as the senior medical Air National Guard advisor to the command surgeon and was the medical liaison between the active Air Force and the Air National Guard.


Pink Ribbon Award
The Pink Ribbon Award is given to individuals who demonstrate outstanding leadership in breast cancer research, education, treatment and advocacy.

Wendie Berg, MD, PhD, FACR
Professor of Radiology, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Magee-Womens Hospital of UPMC

Dr. Berg is the leading expert on dense breast tissue and its implications for women’s health.  She has worked extensively with the American College of Radiology on BI-RADS Ultrasound and Mammography lexicons.  She has authored or coauthored over 75 peer-reviewed publications, co-writes and edits the book, Diagnostic Imaging: Breast and has given over 250 national and international invited lectures. In addition to the screening ultrasound-MRI trial, she has led and authored results of multicenter trials evaluating positron emission mammography and shearwave elastography.  

She has received multiple awards for her reviewing and research mentoring.  In 2009, she ranked ninth in the “most influential movers and shakers” in United States’ radiology by RT-Image magazine, in 2010 was named “Most Influential Radiology Researcher” internationally by, and was elected an honorary fellow of the Austrian Roentgen Society in 2012 for her contributions to the design of the Austrian Breast Cancer Screening Program. Recognizing her efforts to evaluate and implement supplemental screening methods for women with dense breasts, Dr. Berg received the 2012 Global Breast Cancer Medical Achievement Award from the Avon Breast Cancer Crusade. In 2013, she was awarded the Pathfinder lectureship of the American Society of Breast Disease.  Recently, she has joined with others to create an informative website educating women on the issue of dense breasts, called

Rep. Matt Baker
68th Legislative District, PA House of Representatives

PA Rep. Matt Baker is currently serving his 12th term in the House of Representatives, representing all of Tioga County and western Bradford County. He has more than 34 years of knowledge and experience of public service and state government.

In the House, Baker serves as majority chairman of the House Health Committee and is also a member of the Rules Committee. He has served as Speaker Pro Tempore of the House of Representatives when the speaker cannot preside over the House during a voting session.

Baker also serves on the Board of Governors of the State System of Higher Education (PASSHE), the Capitol Preservation Committee and the Marcellus Institute Resource Council for the Marcellus Institute at Mansfield University.

Representative Baker has worked to advance legislation that benefits cancer survivors, including the current House Bill 60, Oral Chemotherapy Parity legislation, of which he is the primary sponsor.

He also was recognized by the House for having attained a 22- year record of perfect attendance at every House floor session since first becoming a state legislator. He is a member of the First Baptist Church of Wellsboro and the Wellsboro Rotary Club and has been very supportive of various nonprofit charitable organizations.


Shining Light Award
The Shining Light Award is presented annually for community grassroots leadership in the field of breast cancer research, education, outreach and advocacy.

Julie Rockey
Breast Cancer Survivor, President and Founder, Ta-Ta Trot, Inc.

Julie Rockey is a 5 year breast cancer survivor, diagnosed at the age of 30. While undergoing chemotherapy, Julie was approached to organize a 5K Run/Walk.  In that first year, 50 people participated in the Ta-Ta Trot and raised over $3,300.  The event has grown tremendously since and over the years has boasted thousands of trotters from all 50 states with more than $348,000 raised for breast cancer charities since 2010.
Professionally, Julie serves as the Chief Operating Officer for MedMining and as an Associate Vice President at Geisinger Health System.  Julie received her B.S. in Health Information Management with a focus on Computer Science at the University of Pittsburgh and is a credentialed Registered Health Information Administrator. Julie is currently pursuing her MBA at the University of Scranton.  In the community, Julie has served on the Information Technology Advisory Board for Keystone College, Board of Directors for Friends of Shikellamy State Park, and Board of Directors for the Devitt House acting as Treasurer, and actively serves on the Board of Directors for Leadership Susquehanna Valley and Alumni Chair as well as the Founder, President, and Chair of the Board of Directors for the Ta-Ta Trot.


Click here for our podcast with 2013 Potamkin Prize Awardee Dr. Dennis Slamon.


Previous Awardees Include:

PA Governor Edward G. Rendell

Congressman John Murtha, Jr. & Mrs. Joyce Murtha

PA Governor Tom Ridge

PA Sen. Bob Mensch

Evelyn Lauder of the Estee Lauder Companies

United States Senator Arlen Specter

Madeleine Wing Adler, Ph.D., President of West Chester University

V. Craig Jordan, Ph.D., D.Sc., Diana, Princess of Wales Professor of Cancer Research

Mary A. Simmonds, M.D.

John Glick, M.D., University of Pennsylvania Cancer Center